Snowflake tealight holder

I was looking to make something that is both holiday appropriate and could still be kept around once the holidays are over. Something wintery seemed great. I had gotten a bunch of snowflake stencils recently and I had a few blank tealight holders left over from the glitter tealights I made before.

I’m really happy with how these came out, and just like snowflakes, neither one is the same.

Snowflake tealight holder 6

 

Supplies: glass paint, tealight holders, stencils and foam brushes

Snowflake tealight holder 1

I used four kinds of Martha Stewart craft paint: Wedding cake, wet cement, surf and sea lavendar, all in the satin finish. In hues of white, blue and gray. Totally winter right?

Snowflake tealight holder 2

You only need a little bit of paint for this entire project. A little dollop of paint is all you need. I will say I didn’t use much of the wet cement paint. It looks like a nice gray when it’s on the plate there, but it sorta looked like a dingy and dirty snowflake.

Snowflake tealight holder 3

I put the stencils all around the tealight holder. I let some hang off the holder so they would look like they were falling snowflakes.

Snowflake tealight holder 4

Dab the paint onto the stencil. I went all the way around the tealight holder before pulling the stencils off. I didn’t want the paint to dry all the way, because I’ve experienced the paint pulling off the glass with the stencil when it’s too dry. If there are some larger gaps between the pattern, you can fill them in with other stencils. If you want to paint over the other snowflakes, let them dry at least an hour.

Snowflake tealight holder 5

 

Love! Simple and pretty.

I’m going to follow the curing method that’s just leaving them out for 21 days. Otherwise you could bake them for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. You put the glasses into the cold oven, turn the oven on and let it hit 350 degrees. Then start the half an hour counter. Then turn the oven off and let them cool. Then they should be set. You need to wait 24 hours for them to dry before the baking method, btw.

Head over to the Crafting and Cooking Facebook page and give us a like. And check out theChristmas ideas board on Pinterest.

Inside BruCrew Life

2 thoughts on “Snowflake tealight holder

    • The stencils are Martha Stewart, available at Michael’s. I have a a set of stencils that is for the holidays and then a sheet that is just snow related. I found the tealights at Hobby Lobby. I got a pack of 8 plain ones for less than 10 bucks. They’ve also got a lot of different kinds at the dollar store, maybe not these tealight size though.

Leave a comment