Pastillas de leche

One of my favorite candies in the world comes from the Philippines. Pastillas de leche. Delicious little sugary treats wrapped in white paper. Whenever a family member heads to the Philippines, I will usually request an entire box for myself… or I’ll hoard a bunch from the group. 🙂 This is how the original kind looks:

Pastillas de leche 10

If I had known I could make my own with just three ingredients, I wouldn’t have to wait for someone to decide to head across the world for a box.

Pastillas de leche 8

My own little spin on pastillas de leche.

Pastillas de leche 1

Three ingredients:
– 1 can of condensed milk
– about 2 cups of powdered milk
– about a half cup of white sugar

Pastillas de leche 2

Pour the condensed milk into a large mixing bowl. I used a spoon to scrape the sides of the can.

Pastillas de leche 3

Then start adding in your milk powder slowly and stirring. I started with a spatula and then had to switch to a wooden spoon.

Pastillas de leche 4

A dough will form once you get all the milk powder in.

Pastillas de leche 5

I started to use my small scooper to get even rounds. Usually the candy is rolled into cylinders, but I decided this was simpler.

Pastillas de leche 6

With each piece of candy, roll it in the sugar.

Pastillas de leche 7

Remember how I said I thought that using the small scoop was gonna be easier? Well… my small scooper got sacrificed to the candy gods. I guess it was too sticky and thick for the little scraper. Opps. At least I didn’t use my large scooper cause I use that for everything. I’d be lost without it.

Pastillas de leche 9

 

And there you go! After rolling all of them in the sugar they’re ready to be eaten. They’re not exactly like the candy direct from the Philippines. That kind is a bit creamier, but these are a pretty good substitute.

Remember to head over to Crafting and Cooking’s Facebook page and give it a like: http://facebook.com/CraftingandCooking.

6 thoughts on “Pastillas de leche

Leave a Reply

