Glitter votive candle holders

I saw this pin for glitter votive candle holders and I just thought they were so pretty. I had to do my own version. They seemed snazzy and could add a little bit of sparkle!

The original blog used spray adhesive/glue. I decided that I needed to try using Mod Podge.

Supplies: Glass votive holders, Mod Podge, glitter, masking tape

I couldn’t decide between fine glitter and chunkier glitter. I decided to try one of each.

Start by taping off the area you don’t want to get glitter on.

Put a thin layer of Mod Podge in the area you want the glitter to adhere to.

I put the glitter on the plate and then rolled the votive in the glitter.

Once you roll the entire mod podged part in the glitter, set to the side to dry.

Do the same with your second votive. Also let dry.

Once they’ve dried for awhile, put a thin layer of Mod Podge on to seal the glitter. You don’t want it glittering up your entire place.

Let them dry fully. The Mod Podge should dry clear. Pull off the masking tape.

Put in a tea light or a small votive, depending on the size of your votive holders. Then light! Depending on how thick your glitter is, the light can show through. It’s so sparkly. I think I’m going to make a second set, so both the fine and chunky glitter have pairs.

Original blog/pin

Thirty Handmade Days
13 thoughts on “Glitter votive candle holders

  1. Pingback: Snowflake tealight holder « Crafting and Cooking

  2. Hey Heather, I just tried out this project, however, I wanted the glitter inside rather than on the outside. But now I’m faced with a problem. Even though it was just a thin coat of Mod Podge, I can still see the cloud from the outside. Does it go away once it completely dries off or I’ve messed it up? I used Mod Podge (Glass-Lustre)

    • Hi Neha, Hopefully your Mod Podge has dried. I don’t believe it will show as cloudy since it’s the same I used. However, I hope you’re only using these as decoration and don’t plan to light a candle inside. I don’t know how safe that would be.

      • Hi Heather, thanks for replying. You are right. Once the Mod Podge dried, it was perfect!
        You mentioned that this can only be used a decoration and not for lighting candles inside. Why do you say so? I’ve not yet lit any candles inside and have so far only used for decorating purposes, but I was planning to use them later on. I had seen similar videos on the youtube and have seen others use it, so presumed it is safe. But if it is unsafe to do so, I’m not gonna do it. I believe in “Better be safe than sorry”

      • I’d just be careful if the flame from the wick gets too high and close to the glitter/mod podge. I don’t know how flammable mod podge or glitter is?

  3. Pingback: Trick or Treat Tuesday - Inside BruCrew Life

Leave a Reply

