Black Bean Brownies

I’ve been intrigued with that whole idea of hiding healthy veggies and other items within foods that you like. Pureed squash or carrots in mac and cheese and things like that. I read this article all about black beans. There was a recipe for brownies included. I had all the ingredients except for the black beans. A quick trip to the store and I have brownies from scratch.

Black Bean Brownies 7

I think the recipe needs just a slight tweaking or I need a new bottle of vegetable oil, since I could taste the oil in the baked brownies. After second thought (and more brownies) I just greased the corner of the baking dish too much and got an extra dose of vegetable oil. These were pretty chocolatey and had a rich, fudgey texture.

Black Bean Brownies 1

Ingredients:
3/4 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips, divided
1/3 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

You will also need a blender or food processor.

Black Bean Brownies 2

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Stick the black beans and the 1/2 cup of vegetable oil into the blender and puree. I had a hard time with this in the blender because there wasn’t enough liquid with the beans. I mashed them a bit with a spoon before moving on to the next step.

Black Bean Brownies 3

Add the eggs, cocoa, sugar and vanilla and then blend again. Melt half the chocolate chips and then add that to the mixture.

Black Bean Brownies 4

Put in the flour, salt and baking powder and pulse it a couple of times just to incorporate the dry ingredients.

Black Bean Brownies 5

The mixture should be a pudding texture.

Black Bean Brownies 6

Pour the brownie batter into an 8×8 pan that’s greased or sprayed with cooking spray. Sprinkle the rest of the chocolate chips on the top. Bake for 20 minutes. Check that the brownies are baked by sticking a knife into the middle and making sure it comes out clean.

Black Bean Brownies 8

Yum. If you like a moist, fudge brownie this is great. Plus it’s filled with fiber!

Have you tried putting black beans or any other sorts of pureed vegetables into your baked goods or other meals?

Inside BruCrew Life

10 thoughts on “Black Bean Brownies

  1. I made these for my family tonight. My 3 boys LOVED them and hubby too! Thanks for a great tip to sneak a little extra fiber into their diets! They didn’t taste at all like black beans…..just wonderful yummy chocolate. This recipe is a keeper.

  2. Soooo, good! I made these for company this weekend and they loved them too! I’m always looking for healthier recipes tha don’t taste like crap and this one is a winner! Thanks :))

Leave a comment