Creamed Corn

Have you been to Texas? I went to Texas for the first time a couple years ago and I was introduced to Rudy’s Country Store and BBQ. I don’t really go there for the BBQ though. No. Every time I’ve been back, I go for the creamed corn:

Tim knows the way to my heart. First thing we do in Texas: creamed corn at Rudy's. #yum

A post shared by Heather (@heatherlesz) on

The creamed corn is an absolute must. To my dismay, there are no Rudy’s locations up north. So I’ve been trying to find the best substitute. And I did find a great copy cat recipe. It’s not the perfect replica, but it’s still quite tasty.

Creamed corn

Consider adding this to your Thanksgiving meal this week, or just have it for a weeknight dinner. It’s quick and simple.

Creamed corn

Ingredients:
1 pint heavy whipping cream
4 oz. cream cheese
16 oz. frozen corn plus a little bit more.
2-3 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
Black pepper

Creamed corn

 

Put the pint of heavy whipping cream in a pot with the 4 oz. of cream cheese. I cut the cream cheese up a bit smaller. You’ll be melting it over medium heat until it melts. A whisk is best used to stir it as well.

Creamed corn

 

Let it boil for a little bit just to make sure the cream cheese is melted and it’s heated through.

Creamed corn

 

Add the corn, salt and sugar. And make sure the corn gets heated through. If it looks like there’s too much sauce/gravy, try adding more corn. Mine turned out a bit more soupy, but it was still good.

Creamed corn

 

Pour into your container to serve and sprinkle on the black pepper.

Creamed corn

 

Ready to eat!

Also, if you do find yourself at a Rudy’s, I love the brisket. And you need a buy a bottle of their Sissy Sause. I actually just ran out of the bottle I bought a few months ago. Tastes yummy on chicken.

3 thoughts on “Creamed Corn

  1. OMG! Babe! iI have THREE pints of thick cream that expire in an hour! I am SO doing this right now! Jingle bells to me! I love cream! Thanks girl! XOXOXOXOXOXO

    PS – I love corn, too, but let’s be honest – it’s really the cream a kween wants 😉

Leave a Reply

