Prosciutto, asparagus and parmesan spaghetti

This was one of the first recipes I tried off of Pinterest. It has become a huge hit and I rarely have leftovers when I make it for people. But it has also become a sort of treat, since prosciutto is a bit more expensive. It is worth it though.

Prosciutto, Asparagus and Parmesan Spaghetti 6

Although, I do end up munching on the prosciutto while I’m waiting to cook it. 🙂

The recipe is from ValSoCal. I did make a few changes from the original recipe. I’ve also been a little more free-wheeling with the ingredients since I usually end up with just slightly over what the original recipe calls for. My changes are in the parentheses.

Prosciutto, asparagus and parmesan spaghetti
adapted from ValSoCal
– 8 oz. angel hair pasta or spaghetti
– 1 and 1/4 cup heavy cream (or one pint)
– 4 oz. of prosciutto (or 6 oz. in a package)
– 1 lb. asparagus (I just grabbed a rubber-banded bunch from the store)
– 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese (I just used a couple handfuls)
– 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
– salt and pepper
– garlic powder

Prosciutto, Asparagus and Parmesan Spaghetti 1

Start by boiling up your pasta according to the package directions. Chop of your asparagus. I usually chop into threes.

Prosciutto, Asparagus and Parmesan Spaghetti 2

Take your prosciutto and shred it into pieces.

Prosciutto, Asparagus and Parmesan Spaghetti 3

In a pan, use some olive oil and fry up the asparagus and prosciutto. It only takes a couple minutes. You still want the asparagus to be a little crunchy and bright green.

Prosciutto, Asparagus and Parmesan Spaghetti 4

Pour in your heavy cream, the cheese and then season with the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Stir and let the sauce thicken. It should only take about 4-5 minutes. Put your pasta into the pan and stir.

Prosciutto, Asparagus and Parmesan Spaghetti 5

Serve it up in a bowl. You could top with more parmesan or even some crispy bits of prosciutto. This is so good. It is better to eat it all the first night. It’s not as creamy if microwaved. I think I’d want to add in some peas or some spinach.

 

Leave a Reply

