Homemade Tootsie Rolls… almost

This was one recipe I was really hoping would turn out. I started off making it ok and then the end result was bad. Darn.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 7

So these are the homemade tootsie rolls from Food 52. I had all the ingredients to start off with, so I thought why not.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted
Pinch of salt
1 to 1 1/4 cup instant non-fat dry milk powder

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 1

Start by whisking together the honey, cocoa powder and vanilla.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 2

Looks sorta gloopy but smooth.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 3

Add in your melted butter.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 4

Then add in your powdered sugar.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 5

Start adding in your milk powder.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 6

Keep stirred until you can’t stir no more. Then you gotta knead it with your hands. I had just under 1 and 1/4 cup milk powder mixed in, but I might have needed more. You’re supposed to be able to create a ball with this dough that is firm and only slightly sticky. I thought I had achieved it. You need to then put the ball onto wax paper or something it won’t stick to.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 8

The ball is supposed to spread out and be a little flatter when you let it rest like 5-10 minutes. Mine spread out way too much. It was still too gooey and not firm enough. I wanted to try cutting it anyway.

Homemade Tootsie Rolls 9

Ya… that so didn’t work out. I still ate a bunch of it, but it was just too sticky. I could really taste the honey in this, so I may have needed more cocoa powder. I definitely needed more milk powder though. Wish this had worked out.

 

Leave a Reply

