Four days in Texas

I made my first trip to Texas for a long weekend with the boy. And being the foodie that I am, I had to photograph all my food and the places we went to eat. Now, before we left Chicago for Houston, I had already decided that I needed to eat some BBQ. When I think Southern cooking, BBQ is usually one of the first things that comes to mind. But I was also open to trying new things.

The first stop on the trip was to No Name BBQ:

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 2

It’s a small place with good food. I was told the restaurant was made out of shipping containers, which is appropriate cause it’s near the ports.

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 1

I had a ham sandwich with fries. The sauce was a bit too smokey for me. But the ham is cut super thin and I loved the bread it was served on.

Next stop, Top Water Grill:

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 3

This place reminded me of Jimmy Buffet’s Cheeseburger in Paradise restaurants, which was definitely one of my fave places to eat. We went to Top Water at night. I wish we had been able to go during the day because you can actually pull boats right up to the pier.

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 4

Had the fried catfish. It was flakey and the fries were really good. I also used my salad dressing (honey mustard) as my dipping sauce.

TexMex time at Armenta’s Mexican Restaurant:

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 5

There aren’t many TexMex places up here in Chicago, or at least I’m told there aren’t any “real” TexMex places. I’m not much of a Mexican food eater though, mainly because I can’t really handle spicy foods and I don’t eat peppers or onions. Chipotle is usually the closest I get to Mexican food although I have been to Rick Bayless’ Topolobampo, which is fancy Mexican food.

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 6

I ate cheese enchiladas with refried beans and Spanish rice. I wish I had more of these. The sauce was delish and I love a good bowl full of refried beans.

Breakfast food at the hotel:

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 7

A BBLTC … broken egg, bacon, lettuce, tomato and cheese sandwich. Tasty and filling breakfast. I gotta make this at home. I always think about putting eggs on sandwiches, but I’ve never actually done it.

Dessert, Three Brothers Bakery:

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 8

We went to the bakery to visit a friend. The name, Three Brothers Bakery, sounded familiar to me. Probably from a Food Network appearance or something. If only you could have seen the cases full of treats! I apologize for the lack of photos. We also got a tour of the kitchen. There are some really big mixers in a commercial kitchen. Make my 5 qt. Kitchenaid look puny.

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 9

We ended up with a box of goodies. The pecan bar in the bottom left was amazing, although I only got a bite. The bottom right Hamantaschen was raspberry. Also really good. It reminded me of a Kolaczki cookie. The cheesecake slice at the top was also amazing. There’s a gingerbread man buried under there too.

Now for my favorite meal of the trip, BBQ from Rudy’s BBQ:

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 10

 

I went here at the suggestion of my best friends. We have pretty much the same tastebuds, so I knew if they were recommending it, it was the place I had to go.

You stand in line before heading up to the counter to make your order. It’s a sit wherever sort of place. We just took our meal back to the hotel. But this place was hopping. We went to the NASA location in Webster. Slightly disappointed we didn’t get to try the new potatoes though, because they were in the midst of making more. But the manager was awesome and gave us free drinks and comp’ed the potato salad as a replacement side.

Four days in Texas Crafting and Cooking 11

Brisket, pulled pork, potato salad and creamed corn.

And then there’s Rudy’s signature sause. However, this was the Sissy version. Yes, Sissy Sause. Spelled with the extra S in sause. The boy said it was too spice heavy. I liked that you got a little kick. But I wasn’t dousing everything. The brisket was too smokey for me. Not a smoked BBQ fan. I am more of a sweet BBQ lover.

I ate the pulled pork with the sauce. OMG it was so good. And I ate all the creamed corn. I wish I had ordered a medium sized cream corn. But it’s a good thing I didn’t I did regret eating so much right after I finished. But it was so good!

And that would be my short trip to Texas in food form. I didn’t include the Caesar salad I ate at NASA or the basically plain breakfast I had at the hotel one day.

We mainly ate in the Houston burbs. I think next time we need to travel into the city to try some other restaurants. Anyone have any suggestions?

 

One thought on “Four days in Texas

Leave a Reply

