Crockpot honey sesame chicken

It was time to bust out the crockpot again. I found these two recipes, from the Recipe Critic and Amy Bites. I combined the two recipes to create this version of Crockpot honey sesame chicken.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 7

And it was goooood. Not too sweet, not too spicy.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 2

Ingredients:
– 4-5 chicken breasts
– 3/4 cup honey*
– 1/2 cup soy sauce
– 1/4 cup ketchup
– 2 teaspoons minced garlic
– 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
– Onion powder, red pepper flakes** and pepper – just sprinkle a bit in
– 4 teaspoons of cornstarch and 1/3 cup water

* so, the amount of honey can vary from 1/2 cup to a full cup. I split the difference at 3/4 cup. Depends on how sweet you want it
** I only used a small bit of red pepper flakes. I don’t like spicy but I know this would taste good with even more.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 1

Start by sticking your chicken into the bottom of the crockpot.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 3

Whisk together the honey, ketchup, soy sauce, garlic, vegetable oil, pepper, red pepper and onion powder. Make sure you whisk it because it takes a little bit of work to incorporate all the honey. Otherwise it sticks to the bottom of whatever bowl you’re using.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 4

Pour the sauce over the chicken. I stirred the chicken a little bit so it was all coated. Turn the crockpot on low for 4 hours.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 5

At the four hour mark, pull all the chicken out of the crockpot and slice it up. Mix 4 teaspoons of cornstarch and 1/3 cup water together and pour that into the sauce that’s still in the crock pot. Turn the crockpot up to high and let it cook for 10 minutes more. It will thicken the sauce slightly.

crockpot honey sesame chicken 6

 

Put the chicken back into the crock pot. I also added steamed broccoli. Sprinkle in some sesame seeds. Serve it over rice and eat warm. Super good.

8 thoughts on “Crockpot honey sesame chicken

  1. Oh, I am SO making this next week!! Looks delicious and my family loves sesame chicken. I’m new to slow cooking and I am LOVING it! Thanks for sharing. 😀

    • Thanks! I’m sorta new to my slow cooker too. But check out my recipe page for more slow cooker options! All the stuff I’ve tried to make has been great.

  2. I made it with onion instead of broccoli. Here’s what we thought (our family of four): Hubby loved it :D, I liked it but would prefer it to be a little less intense flavor-wise so I WILL do broccoli next time, Daughter (12) didn’t think it was sweet enough 🙄 , and son loved it! So there you have it. 😉

  3. Does it make a difference if you up the chicken before you cook it? The only thing it might change (I would think) is the amount of time to cook it…just curious!

    • It would change the amount of time you cook it for, but also it marinates for those first four hours. So you might not get the full flavor…

Leave a Reply

