White chicken enchiladas

I’m all about making quick meals. I have made this recipe twice and it’s amazing! I could eat the gravy with a spoon. It’s so good. I’ve adapted it from Food Family & Finds and changed it up to fit my tastes. No chilis in my version. If you like it a bit spicy, head over to the original recipe.

white chicken enchiladas 9

So, so good. I’m pretty sure I only got one of these the first time I made them. The boyfriend gobbled up the rest including the leftovers!

Ingredients:
– tortillas
– shredded chicken (I just use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store especially when it’s $5 Fridays)
– Lucerne Mexican blend shredded cheese (I swear by this now. You’ll use the whole bag which is two cups)
– 1 can of sweet corn whole kernals
– 3 tablespoons butter
– 3 tablespoons flour
– 1 cup sour cream
– 1 can of cream of chicken soup
– 1 and 1/4 cup of chicken broth (I end up just using the whole can)
– Some taco seasoning
– salt and pepper

white chicken enchiladas 1

 

Gather your tortillas, cheese, chicken and corn plus a 9×13 baking dish

white chicken enchiladas 2

Put a bit of the chicken, corn and shredded chicken inside the tortilla. Roll it up and put it seam side down.

white chicken enchiladas 3

Make as many as will fill the dish. I’ve gotten six enchiladas in mine both times I’ve made it. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

white chicken enchiladas 4

In a pot, melt the butter and mix in the flour (I do suggest using a whisk… I just didn’t do it for the photo). Make a roux, or thick paste.

white chicken enchiladas 5

Whisk in the sour cream, cream of chicken soup and chicken broth. Then the salt and pepper and some of the taco seasoning. I only use maybe a tablespoon at most. It’s just to give some extra flavor.

white chicken enchiladas 6

Pour the entire pot of sauce over the enchiladas.

white chicken enchiladas 7

Put the rest of the cheese on top of the sauce. Put the pan into the oven and bake for 30 minutes.

white chicken enchiladas 8

 

When you pull the pan out of the oven, it will be bubbly and smell great. You don’t need anything else. This is perfect the way it is. But I do think I might try putting refried beans inside or maybe even rice next time. Let me know if you try it!

Follow my posts on Facebook by giving my page a like: facebook.com/CraftingAndCooking

Leave a Reply

