Chocolate covered Oreos

Chocolate covered Oreos? Yes please! A few festive sprinkles? Why sure! So here’s the deal, I tried to make chocolate covered Oreo pops, but I ended up with half pops and half regular chocolate covered Oreos. Doesn’t really matter, still super cute and tasty!

Also, welcome to my 100th post! Wow, it’s hard to believe I’ve posted that much here! But I want to thank you for coming and reading as well as trying anything I’ve made here at Crafting and Cooking. To stay up to date on what I’m working on, make sure you head over to the Crafting and Cooking Facebook page and like it!

Let’s get to the Oreos.

chocolate covered oreos 1

Yummy!

chocolate covered oreos 2

Ingredients: double stuf Oreos, candy melts, lollipop sticks and sprinkles

chocolate covered oreos 3

Start by sticking the lollipop sticks into your Oreos. There are a couple ways to do this. I just stuck them in. But in the process, I cracked the cookies a bit, which I think led to some instability when I was dipping them. You can also separate one side of the cookie from the stuf, put the lollipop stick in and then use a little bit of the candy melt to reattach the cookie.

chocolate covered oreos 4

Melt your candy melts. 30 seconds. Stir. Repeat. Until the melts are smooth. Then dip the Oreos. I used the spoon to cover the Oreo entirely. If the Oreo fell into the candy melts, I just scooped it out and put it onto the pan to dry.

chocolate covered oreos 5

I used a baking sheet with aluminum foil to let the candy melts set up. Before they dried, I sprinkled on some sprinkles. A tasty treat and, I think, a great gift idea. Takes no time at all though. Just don’t get frustrated if your Oreo pops end up being just chocolate covered Oreos.

Check out the Christmas ideas board on Pinterest.

Somewhat Simple Katie's Nesting Spot

Leave a Reply

