Ribbon tree

Stores start trotting out all sorts of little decorative trees. Well… I thought “I could do that.” And I’m really loving my ribbon tree.

 

Supplies: a bunch of ribbon spools, a styrofoam cone (mine is 8″), a bunch of straight pins with the little colored tops

 

I used about five spools of ribbon for this project, but I also used a thinner ribbon. If you use something wider, it’ll be less. I’m just in love with this ribbon pattern. I got it from Michael’s, if you want to know. I’ve used it as a decorative tie for all my homemade ornaments. Love.

 

Fold the ribbon in half and stick a pin through it. Then stick it into the bottom of the cone. You need to decide how much you want the ribbon to pool at the bottom.

I let my ribbon touch the table and bell out slightly. Keep going all the way around the cone with this layer.

 

After finishing the first layer, I started the next layer up about an inch higher than the first layer.

 

I didn’t want a star at the top of my tree or any sort of decoration. So before I got to the topmost layers of my ribbon tree, I covered the flat top of the cone with some ribbon. Then I lined up the last layer with the top of the cone to finish it off.

 

Yay. Pretty.

Remember to like Crafting and Cooking on Facebook and follow the Christmas ideas board on Pinterest.

Lil\'Luna SNAP!

2 thoughts on “Ribbon tree

Leave a Reply

