Turkey meatloaves

I had never had turkey meatloaf before, let alone turkey meatloaf. Turkey was what’s for Thanksgiving and what I got sliced from the deli counter for sandwiches. Then I found Skinnytaste’s recipe for Petite Turkey Meatloaves. It was my first turkey meatloaf and the only recipe I will ever use. It is so good.

Also, this recipe introduced me to the amazingness that is Worcestershire sauce and ketchup. Oh my goodness it’s awesome. It’s used as a glaze here, but I also serve a side of it with the meatloaf. I’ve also used it on ground beef meatloaf, hotdogs and hamburgers. It’s a universally tasty sauce.

One thing I do differently from the original recipe is that I don’t add onions. I really suggest heading over to the original recipe for those instructions. I’ve also done the recipe with and without marjoram, perfectly good either way.

Turkey meatloaf
Adapted from Skinnytaste

– 1 lb. of lean ground turkey
– 1 egg
– 1/2 cup of oatmeal
– 1/4 cup ketchup
– 1 teaspoon onion powder
– 1 teaspoon marjoram (optional)
– salt
– pepper

For the glaze:
– 2 tablespoons ketchup
– 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Take all your ingredients for the meatloaf part and mix them together in a big bowl.

Set that to the side and then mix together the glaze ingredients. It should be a nice ruddy-brown color.

Go back to the meat. I do what Rachael Ray does and I make an X or a + sign through the meat so I get four equal portions. So take those four portions and make little loaves out of them and stick them on a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

Take the glaze and spread it over the loaves liberally.

Make sure you get it all over the sides too. Stick the baking sheet into the oven for 40 minutes.

They should come out brown around the edges and just absolutely tasty. I served it with peas and some mac & cheese. There was also dessert! I’ll be sharing what dessert tomorrow.

making monday marvelous linky party

4 thoughts on “Turkey meatloaves

Leave a Reply

