Taco dip

Somehow, I started craving taco dip as I started planning my strategy boardgame night. Ok, it has been a go-to dip as of late, thanks to Skinnytaste. I must admit, taco dip was a new food phenomenon for me. I think I tasted my first taco dip last year at a barbecue. It’s so simple.

taco dip 5

Plus, it’s a bit healthy… right? It does have a bunch of veggies!

Taco dip
Adapted from Skinnytaste

– 8 oz. cream cheese, you can use 1/3 less fat or regular
– 8 oz. sour cream
– 1 packet of taco seasoning
– sliced olives
– sliced grape tomatoes
– lettuce
– cheddar cheese
– optional: salsa… the original recipe uses it. I don’t. (this goes into the cream cheese/sour cream/taco seasoning layer if you use it)

Start off by slicing your tomatoes. I use grape tomatoes. I use pre-sliced black olives. And wash and dry your lettuce. I used pre-shredded.

Mix together the sour cream, cream cheese and taco seasoning with a mixer.

Pour the cream cheese, sour cream and taco seasoning mixture in the bottom of a 9×13 dish. Then layer the lettuce, olives, tomatoes and cheese on top.

That’s it! I always put a spoon in the dish so people can scoop some dip onto their plate and grab some chips. The dish is usually empty by the end of the night. It’s so good.

2 thoughts on “Taco dip

  1. Pingback: Recipes for Game Day « Crafting and Cooking

Leave a Reply

