Cleaning with vinegar

I’ve been curious about cleaning with regular, every day items. The home remedy types of cleaning. I don’t usually stock white vinegar in my kitchen, but most homemade cleaning products call for vinegar. Plus I needed to descale my coffee maker. Might as well try to clean other things with it.

I decided my first time out with a homemade cleaning, I would just try something with plain vinegar. No mixing. This helpful pin has been floating around Pinterest for awhile. Basically, fill a bag with white vinegar, tie it around your showerhead over night. It should get off a bunch of gunk.

That’s the only photo you’re getting in this post! 🙂 I’m not sharing before and after photos. I filled a quart bag with about a 1/2 cup of vinegar. Because of the angle of the showerhead, I did lose some of the liquid before I tied it on. I tied it flat against the showerhead with a second rubberband too.

I think the showerhead is a bit cleaner. The vinegar was able to get into the little shower bits that scrubbing with a brush isn’t going to get.

If you’re not a fan of a vinegar smell, don’t try this. I’m not a huge fan of the bleach or other shower cleaners out there. It feels like I’m polluting my air at times. With the vinegar, it just smells like I’m getting ready to cook something.

Have any homemade cleaning products you could suggest? More adventures in cleaning with vinegar to come!

Leave a Reply

