Cream Cheese Crock Pot Chicken

It was another slow cooker Sunday for me. I found this recipe, which pegs it was the “Easiest Dinner Ever.” I’m going to agree. Five ingredients. That’s it for this recipe. How could I pass it up? Ok, it’s sorta six with the addition of rice.

Cream Cheese Crock Pot Chicken
adapted from The Larson Lingo

Ingredients:
– 1/2 to 1 bag of frozen chicken tenderloins
– 8 oz. cream cheese
– 1 can of corn, drained
– 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
– 1 can of diced tomatoes or 1 can of Rotel

I have a smaller crock pot, so I only used half the bag of chicken. Put that in the bottom of the crock pot. Then put the rest of the ingredients inside. So with the tomatoes, I don’t like chilis that’s why I avoided the Rotel.

You can’t see the cream cheese in the photo, but it’s there. Cook on low for 6-8 hours, stir every couple of hours. I cooked it about 6.5 hours. In that last half hour, I added cooked rice to the mixture. The original blog shows how soupy the dish can be. I decided rather than serving over the rice, just mix it in.

I might have put a bit too much rice. But, this was yummy and filling. I might suggest adding a bit of seasoning, perhaps the tiniest pinch of red pepper, salt and pepper. There’s a lot here. I’m going to have leftovers for lunch for the next couple of days. It’s just as good warmed up too.

2 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Crock Pot Chicken

Leave a Reply

