Banana bread

Don’t you hate it when you buy a bunch of bananas and you end up with one or two that look like this:

I always seem to buy too many bananas being in a one person household. I never remember I can make banana bread out of these beauties. I did this time! Perhaps it was because banana bread was what the bridal party was snacking on for brunch this past Saturday. It sorta got stuck in my mind.

Banana Bread
Adapted from allrecipes.com

2 ripe bananas, mushed
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar

Start by setting the oven to 350 degrees.

Mush your bananas! I added the two eggs to this and beat them together. In another bowl (I used a stand mixer), cream the butter and sugar together. Once they’re creamed, add in the egg/banana mixture.

Mix together your dry ingredients, then slowly add to the mixer. Don’t over mix. The dough should come together pretty quickly.

It should be a bit thick. Grease a loaf pan. I used vegetable oil, but you can use Pam or some other spray.

Pour the dough into the loaf pan. Stick it in the oven and bake for about an hour. Test the doneness with a knife or toothpick and make sure it comes out of the loaf clean.

Your banana bread should be golden brown and look utterly delicious. Yum! You could probably add chocolate chips or some type of nuts to this. I was very tempted to use chocolate chips. Next time! This does taste the best warmed up.

5 thoughts on “Banana bread

  1. When I make Banana Bread, I use a pan that makes 8 mini breads instead of one big loaf. No only does this cut the baking time in half, it also gives my wife and I breakfast bread for 2 weekends.

Leave a Reply

