Warm chocolate melting cake

One of my favorite vacations to take is a cruise. It’s a floating hotel. You can go to a few different locations, partake in a couple different excursions and eat some amazing food. Two years ago, my best friends and I traveled the Caribbean on a Carnival cruise ship. It wasn’t the most perfect vacation, a hurricane changed our itinerary. But, it was a pretty amazing time.

It was my first time on a Carnival ship. And it seems like one of their desserts is extremely memorable: Warm chocolate melting cake. Oh yes. I pretty much ordered it for dessert with every meal. This is what it looked like:

Doesn’t that look delish? Well, I found the recipe to recreate it.

Warm chocolate melting cake
Adapted from Carnival Cruises

8 ounces of chocolate chips or semi-sweet chocolate
1 cup butter
7 eggs
6 tablespoons of sugar
1/2 cup of flour

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Start by melting the butter and the chocolate chips or semi-sweet chocolate. I used milk chocolate, so my cakes came out a lot lighter in color than what I remember the other cake being.

To melt the chocolate and butter, I did it in the microwave for 30 seconds and then would stir and repeat until I reached the meltiness I wanted.

Set the chocolate aside to let it cool. About 10 minutes.

Take four of your eggs and your sugar and whisk together.

Then mix in your flour.

Add in your last three eggs.

After the 10 minutes has passed, take your egg mixture and your chocolate and mix.

It should fill four individual ramekins with the entire mixture. Or you can make the portions smaller by using more ramekins. I only have four, so… ya. I used a spoon ladle to make sure the portions were all the same.

Stick the ramekins (I put them on a small baking pan) in the oven for about 20 minutes. The middles should be melty. Mine were a little sunken, but that’s fine.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and eat! For real, eat right away. The middles start setting up (mine sunk a bit more) and then they’re not melty anymore. Plus, these are supposed to be eaten warm.

I stuck a spoon in and see, the edges are done while the middle is super melty and gooey.

One more shot. See, melty and cooked. So good. Brings me back to good memories.

Make sure you like Crafting and Cooking on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

