Gnocchi all’Amatriciana

I have a Kindle Fire and I am really loving the fact that I can subscribe to my fave food magazines on it. All the photos are in color and I can zoom in to the particular recipe I’m attempting to make. Plus I have a little stand for it, so it’s hands free and I don’t really need to worry about pages getting splattered with sauce or washing my hands and needing to pick up the magazine.

One of the magazines I subscribe to is Family Circle. I usually have to skip all the stuff about the kids and family. The recipes and sometimes the crafty things are what I like.

In the September 2012 issue, they have the section called Pasta Perfect. Now I’m a sucker for gnocchi. I love the little pillows of dough. They had Gnocchi all’Amatriciana on pg. 190 of the issue (according to the page number on the page although it says 175 on my Kindle, meh). Must try!

I did it a little different from the way they did. I substituted onion powder for 1 large diced onion and I used the minced garlic in a jar rather than 4 cloves of garlic sliced. I skipped the teaspoon of fresh thyme. I also used shredded Parmesan instead of Pecorino Romano.

I think the only thing I would try in the future is perhaps adding some red wine or something to the sauce. Otherwise this was pretty tasty.

Gnocchi all’Amatriciana
Adapted from Family Circle

4 oz. of pancetta, diced — I found slices of pancetta at the grocery store and I just sliced them up
A couple of teaspoons of minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes
1/4 cup and two tablespoons worth of shredded Parmesan cheese
2 packages of potato gnocchi

Start by boiling water for the gnocchi. Also, turn the oven to 350 degrees. In another pan fry up the pancetta.

Wait until it’s crispy then remove from the pan. You need about 2 teaspoons of the drippings.

In the drippings, fry up the garlic and the red pepper flakes.

Add in the crushed tomatoes, the two tablespoons of Parmesan cheese and the pancetta. Let that all simmer. While that’s going on, the pot of water should be boiling. Put in the gnocchi. Wait until the gnocchi starts to float and the pull it out of the pot. Reserve a 1/2 cup of the pasta water.

Add the gnocchi and the pasta water to the tomato sauce. Stir it all together.

Move the pasta into a baking dish, a 9×13 dish should fit it all. Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top. Then put the pasta into the oven for about 20-25 minutes.

The sauce should be bubbling and the cheese should be melted. Yummy dinner. Serve with some crusty bread and a green salad.

Leave a Reply

