Pin/Recipe Fail

I love mac & cheese and I love how easy Easy Mac is. However, I know how much it costs me to stock up. So I saw this pin and wanted to see if it could save me some money.

Homemade instant mac & cheese. It all started well, but then went awry in the last minute… literally cause it was the last minute in the microwave where something went wrong. And it seems apropos that I had a pin fail on the same day I discovered Pinstrosity, a blog that features pins that didn’t live up to the original.

Ingredients: water, pasta, milk and shredded cheddar cheese.

Easy enough. Ok, in the original blog/pin they used elbow macaroni and called for 1% milk. I only had shells and 2%.

So, you take 1/3 cup of pasta and 1/2 a cup of water. Microwave until the pasta is done. Stir after every 2 minutes. Watch out, the water could boil over.

This is my pasta after 5 minutes.

Looks good right? Now, you’re supposed to add in 1/4 cup milk and 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese.

Stir and the microwave for another minute. And this is what happened:

Mmm… no. I couldn’t even take a bite. Sigh… maybe I shouldn’t have microwaved it again. Just stirred it all together, sort of like the Wisconsin Mac & Cheese from Noodles & Co.

Anyone able to make their own instant mac & cheese? Any tips how I could fix mine?

3 thoughts on “Pin/Recipe Fail

  1. I did that yesterday when making Froot Loops squares for the never ending rainbow birthday party. Yes it is possible to screw up melting marshmallows in a bowl in under 1 min. I gave up on homemade Mac and Cheese. We do KD (Kraft Dinner) over here. .99 cents of my sanity saved!

Leave a Reply

