Chocolate chip cookie dough fudge

Who doesn’t love cookie dough? I absolutely love cookie dough. Eating it raw, love. I know the raw eggs should freak me out, but, eh.

I just found “The Cookie Dough Lover’s Cookbook” by Lindsay Landis of the blog Love & Olive Oil. It’s been staring at me for awhile on Amazon. I put it in my cart, but didn’t purchase it right away. Amazon sent me taunting emails (You looked at this book…, you added this book to your cart…) and I finally gave in. My sweet tooth made me do it!

Once I ordered it, I had to have it. I was at work when my book was slated to be delivered. They wouldn’t leave it either. I didn’t want to wait for them to try again, so I drove an hour out of my way (mainly because of traffic and construction, it would have taken less time if I hadn’t gone during rush hour) to get my new cookbook.

And I am ever-so-glad I did. It has mouthwatering recipes for every sort of occasion. Plus, it’s all cookie dough-related, not cookie related. All the recipes have that cookie dough taste cause you don’t really bake it. And the cookbook has lots of pictures. I am a visual chef/baker. I need to try and achieve what I see in the recipe’s photos. If a cookbook doesn’t have pictures, I’m slightly at a loss. It’s like I’m checking my work to make sure it looks right and therefore I cooked something correctly.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to tackle first. I settled on the Chocolate chip cookie dough fudge. This is extremely sweet, but satisfying. It has a vanilla fudge taste, but the cookie dough isn’t as noticeable until you get to the aftertaste. Then it’s like, “wow, that was totally cookie dough.”

Love it. The fudge is on page 27. Buy the book. Seriously, I want to make almost everything. I think I’m going to make the Chocolate chip cookie dough brownies next… or the Cookie dough billionaire bars. Yum, so hard to choose.

I am going to apologize for the lack of photos on this post. It was a quick process and I didn’t want to burn the sugar.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Fudge
Adapted from The Cookie Dough Lover’s Cookbook

For the cookie dough:
1/3 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons half and half
1/2 cup all-purpose flour

For the fudge:
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1/3 cup unsalted butter
Pinch of salt
1/3 cup half and half
4 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips

Start with the cookie dough. Beat the sugars and the butter until fluffy. Then add in your vanilla, salt and half and half. Then slowly add in your flour until it’s all mixed together. Set aside.

Then stir together in a pot or saucepan your brown sugar, butter, salt and the half and half. Stir over a low heat until the butter and the brown sugar is melted. Turn off the heat and start incorporating the powdered sugar. Mix in a cup at a time. When it’s all mixed together, add in your vanilla.

Then put the cookie dough and the fudge mixtures together. Fold in your chocolate chips. Then put in an 8×8 pan, lined with buttered aluminum foil or parchment paper. Stick in the fridge for at least 3 hours to set up. Then cut and serve.

My slices are a bit too big. I should cut them in half. I think I want to add more chocolate chips too. Yum. That’s all I can say.

 

Leave a Reply

