Strawberry cobbler

I was looking for a good thing to make for dessert and I happened across this recipe for Strawberry cream cheese cobbler. I’m going to call it just plain strawberry cobbler though. There wasn’t enough cream cheese to really make it a factor for me. Also, it was Neufchatel cheese not regular cream cheese. It’s sort of confusing to call it cream cheese when it’s not really cream cheese.

I had no idea Neufchatel cheese was a thing either! I thought I would have to go searching at a specialty place for it. But there it was, sitting right next to the cream cheese at Target.

This was quiet tasty. It had a pancake-y taste to it, which I was fine with. I loved how crispy the edges were! If I could just eat the edges, I would have been happy. I think I could have used a few more strawberries, but I had a couple of duds in the container I got.

I was a little surprised by the butter quotient too. I might cut that down in the future. It was quite buttery.

Strawberry Cobbler
Adapted from Kitchen Scoop

Ingredients, minus the egg

1 stick butter
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 cup milk
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Strawberries
4 ounces Neufchatel cheese, cut in small pieces

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Then melt your stick of butter in the microwave in a 9×13 dish.

Melted butter

This should coat the bottom of your dish. Make sure your strawberries are sliced up.

Strawberries sliced up

Lovely strawberries aren’t they? There were only two containers left on the shelf. I took one and left the other for another strawberry lover.

Mix together the flour, sugar, milk, baking powder, salt and egg. Then pour it into the baking dish and into the butter. Don’t stir it.

Batter poured directly into the butter

The butter should surround the batter. Next, layer your strawberries on top.

Strawberries layered on top of batter and butter

There were a few more empty spots than I wanted, but the one container of strawberries I got went the distance.

Neufchatel cheese cubed and put in the mix

I then took Neufchatel cheese, cubed it up and placed it amongst the strawberries, batter and butter. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes. The top should get golden brown and the batter should bake up around the strawberries.

Finished cobbler

So you see the top part of the photo, the strawberries are less visible. So a few more strawberries up there would have made a difference. But look at those crispy edges! Way too tasty.

I think I’d like to try another cobbler. Have any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Strawberry cobbler

Leave a Reply

