Cheesy scrambled eggs

Who knew that one of the things I would miss the most while traveling abroad would scrambled eggs? Ok, actually eggs in general. I am an egg lover. Hard boiled, over easy, fried, soft boiled, omelettes, poached and, of course, scrambled.

I don’t know if there is a different type of egg served in Europe or they are just cooked differently. I can’t believe I didn’t take a photo of them. They were a bit more dense, yet runny and I think a darker shade of yellow. I still had eggs for pretty much every breakfast. Any Europeans have the answer though? How do you cook your eggs?

But the bacon in London? OMG the bacon. It was amazing. I don’t usually make bacon at home, unless it’s turkey bacon and I microwave that. This bacon was more like Canadian bacon or just ham fried up. There were these sausages in Paris that were absolutely delish too.

Anyway, I’m rambling. Let’s get to my homemade cheesy scrambled eggs.

Ingredients

Ingredients: eggs, American cheese and butter

Ya, that’s it. I don’t put milk in. I use 4-6 eggs for a plate of eggs. It’s perfect for sharing too.

Scramble your eggs

Scramble the eggs in a bowl.

Butter the pan

I use about a tablespoon of butter. And I make sure it coats the entire bottom of the pan and the edges, so the eggs don’t stick.

Eggs into the pan

Pour your eggs into the pan and let sit.

Put your cheese on top

About three slices of American cheese. Rip them up and put on the cooking eggs. You can see the eggs are starting to cook in the bottom of the pan. This is when you start to stir.

Start stirring

The eggs should pull from the bottom easily. Constantly stir until you hit the consistency you like. Turn off the heat and put on a plate.

On the plate

Your eggs should be fluffy and cheesy. And it only takes about a minute. I’m one of those people who loves ketchup on eggs so:

Ketchup

Yum!

Btw, the best way to hard boil an egg: Stick your eggs in a pot of water. Heat the water until it boils. As soon as the water boils, shut off the burner and put the top on the pot. Let the eggs sit in the water for 10-12 minutes. Pull out of the pot and put into cold water. Wait until the cool enough for you to pull the shell off.

Anyone else have egg cooking tips?

Leave a Reply

