Puppy chow

I have been craving puppy chow since a random conversation with my boyfriend. I mentioned puppy chow and he had never heard of it. He thought I was actually referencing dog food. No, I’ve never eaten dog food. Puppy chow is a sweet mixture of cereal, chocolate peanut butter and powdered sugar.

According to my Wikipedia search, puppy chow is mainly a Midwest thing, so it makes sense that he’s never heard of it. But I have fond memories of eating puppy chow out of individual plastic baggies and grabbing handfuls out of large tuperware containers. I also seem to remember it was a thing with my volleyball team.

I wanted to recreate that. The batch I created for this post isn’t entirely right since I used the wrong measuring cup for the peanut butter and too much cereal. I’m adjusting my directions below, so they are correct. Chex has a recipe for Muddy Buddies on the side of the box, but I didn’t want to add butter and vanilla to mine.

Puppy Chow
8 cups Chex cereal
1 1/2 to 2 cups of chocolate chips
1/2 to 3/4 cup of creamy peanut butter
1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar
1 large container

Ingredients

Measure out your 8 cups of cereal and place in your large container. The box of cereal in the photo above is 9 cups, avoid using that last cup of cereal unless you add more chocolate chips and peanut butter. There won’t be enough coating otherwise. Save that cup for your next day’s breakfast.

Melt your chocolate and peanut butter

Measure out the chocolate chips and the peanut butter. In a sauce pan or small pot over low heat, melt them until smooth. Pour the chocolate/peanut butter mixture over the cereal. Shut the container and shake until the cereal is coated.

Chocolatey cereal

Add the powdered sugar into the container, shut the container again and shake.

Mound of powdered sugar

The puppy chow should be entirely coated. Stick the container in the fridge and let it cool down.

Yummy puppy chow

Yum! Must eat in moderation. Only a handful at a time. A day. Yes. 🙂

If you have a different recipe please let me know!

Leave a Reply

