Gravity painted vases

Finished vases

Crafting is a learning process. I saw this pin and wanted to try this sort of gravity painting. The blog the pin links to isn’t in English, so I did my best to follow what was happening in the photo. (Turns out, the project was actually from Better Homes and Garden) I ended up with a project I’m not entirely happy with, but it was still an interesting craft. I also ended up with something not completely perfect, but still pretty.

Supplies: vase or candle holder, enamel paint, foam brush

I found a pair of globe-like vases that I thought would look nice together. I washed the glass globes and also wiped them with rubbing alcohol. I had my heart set on creating two vases in a mint and an ice blue/baby blue color. I had those two colors in the Martha Stewart Satin craft paints. However, those paints didn’t work the way I wanted. The paint wasn’t thin enough to move around the vase easily. I tried tapping the glass and adding more paint. Not great. I had to scrap it. Would have been perfect if I didn’t want the gravity paint style.

I went off to find a more liquidy paint, but couldn’t find the paint in the colors I wanted. I ended up buying white, bright blue and dark green paint from Americana Gloss Enamels. I used white paint primarily and put in a couple of drops of the colors until I mixed up the mint and baby blue colors.

Mixing up my mint green color

I used the foam brush to mix the paint. I would tip the paint in different directions and it made some pretty patterns. The paint would need a little bit of help to move, so I’d use the brush to gather the paint and send it off in another direction.

Tipping the vase almost all the way upside down.

Using the brush to move paint from one side of the vase to the other.

After I finished my design, I ended up with a lot of extra paint sitting in the bottom of the globes. So I scooped out as much as I could with the foam brush. I set the globes to the side to dry. But as they dried, tiny bubbles formed and more paint started to slough off the sides.

Scooping out excess paint.

Since these are just decorative pieces and I won’t be putting anything inside of them, I’m letting them cure for 21 days versus baking them. You could bake cure them though. Let dry 48 hours. Then stick them in a cool oven on a baking sheet. Turn the oven to 350 degrees and bake for half an hour. Turn off the oven and let the pieces cool inside the oven.

Finished vases

The globes are still pretty. I notice the tiny imperfections, but as long as you don’t look inside the globes (you can see it a little bit in the photo above), you can’t really tell. Perhaps next time, I just go with one of the brighter colors and not mix. Or let the excess paint just sit in the bottom of the vase instead of trying to scoop it out.

2 thoughts on “Gravity painted vases

  1. I did this with silver spray paint (too thin) and I didn’t let it dry all the way in the bottom…so when I set something in there it just created indentions. I ended up spraying the outside with a textured, stone type of spray paint to cover up my mistakes!

Leave a Reply

