Homemade sugar scrub

Mixed up sugar scrub, all done.

Lately, my hands have been super dry. I also find scrubbing off all the paint I’ve been using to be difficult. A homemade sugar scrub sounded like a great idea to try and combat my problems. I found this pin. Since I had all the ingredients on hand, I whipped up a batch.

Homemade Sugar Scrub
Adapted from Petite Elefant

The ingredients

1/2 cup White Sugar
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup + 1 cap full of Olive Oil
Empty container

Mix together the two sugars. Put the sugar mixture into your container. You may need to adjust the measurements if your container isn’t large enough or is too large. This worked for my container which I found at Hobby Lobby.

All mixed together and put inside the container.

Add in the oil. Let it sit for a minute, the sugar will start absorbing the oil. I then stirred it together, making sure the sugar was coated. I didn’t want a super oily mixture, so 1/4 cup seemed right. But there was some sugar that didn’t seem coated, so I added just a teensy bit more, from the cap of the oil container.

Adding in the oil.

The original recipe says you can add in a few drops of vanilla extract to add a scent. I was slightly concerned with the shelf life and whether or not I would need a preservative, so I stuck with just the sugars. However, if you are not a fan of the olive oil smell, you may want to add an essential oil or the vanilla.

I had to try it right away. So I scooped out a little bit and started rubbing on my hands. Then I washed it off. Instant difference! I didn’t have to wash with soap afterward either. My hands felt super moisturized. I have added it to my beauty regime off and on for the last few days, even using it on my heels. It’s been amazing. But you do need to stir it up if you let the scrub sit for awhile. The oil will start to drain to the bottom of your container, leaving the top sugar dry. And you don’t want sticky residue because of the sugar.

Also, if you use the scrub on your feet, assuming you wash it off in your tub, make sure you have a mat or something else down so you don’t fall. Or clean the tub afterward. The olive oil will make the bottom of your tub super slippery. My tub is on an angle too, so I start sliding into the faucet if I don’t watch out.

This would make a great gift, perhaps paired with other beauty products or “pamper me” products. Just tie on a ribbon.

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Leave a Reply

