Creamed corn casserole

I love creamed corn casserole. I seriously do. Whenever it’s served, I find myself piling more corn casserole on my plate than whatever meat or entree is being served. I’ll be greedy about it too. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner. That’s how much I love it. 🙂

I usually buy the cream corn casserole pre-made. But my usual supplier has decided it’s a seasonal dish, only for the holiday time. Not cool. But it’s a really simple recipe. It’s basically the same as corn muffins from a box, but it needs to be a little more liquid. So that comes from the creamed corn.

The ingredients for Creamed corn casserole.

Before it goes into the oven

Finished Creamed corn casserole.

Yum, creamed corn casserole on the plate.

Ingredients:
8 oz. of cornbread mix
1 can of corn, drained
1 can of creamed corn
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup sour cream
1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)

Mix all the ingredients together and then pour into your baking dish. The mixture will be soupy. Stick it in the oven for 50 minutes. The top should be golden brown.

That’s it. Seriously. Simple recipe, you probably have all the ingredients at home. I only had to run out for the regular can of corn and the cornbread mix, since I only had blueberry muffin mix. You could probably use frozen corn thawed out slightly instead of the can too.

There are people who like a cheesy creamed corn casserole. I’m not really one of those people. But just sprinkle the cheese on top and bake for another 5 minutes or until it’s melty.

Mandy‘s Recipe Box

8 thoughts on “Creamed corn casserole

  1. I too am addicted to corn casseroles, there is just something about them… I too can eat them any time of day. I’ll have to try this one too! You’ll have to try Emeril’s Corn pudding with wild rice, it’s sooo good, I have to limit myself to only making it for holidays since it’s far from skinny! I’ve got the recipe linked up here http://www.hellokirsti.com/2010/05/easter-dinner-yeah-i-know-its-may.html

    P.S. I agree on the whole cheese thing, it just doesn’t work for me either.

    • Nice! Ya, I’m usually a fan of cheese and corn together but not for the casserole. It’s so good by itself. Checking out your link!

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving vs. Christmas « Crafting and Cooking

  3. Pingback: Recipes for Game Day « Crafting and Cooking

  4. I just made this and put 1 cup butter in on accident (read 1 stick, and my mind read it as 1 cup)… is this going to be a problem?

    • It could be a problem since it’s one stick extra… I’ve never done extra butter before. It could be soupy or not set properly. But that’s all hypothetical. It might be fine.

Leave a Reply

