Frosted vases

The vases in the original pin looked so elegant. I had to try it. I found some hurricane vases/candle holders at the Dollar Store and I had a coupon for a craft store so I got the spray paint.

Funny enough, I couldn’t find rubber bands for the life of me. Then I hit the rubber band jackpot. We have a store in the area called Five Below. Everything is $5 or less. I bought a 3 lb. bag of rubber bands. I won’t need to buy rubber bands ever again. They come in all sorts of sizes too. Thin, thick, tiny, large… haha

Frosted Vases 3

Supplies: clear glass vases or candle holders, rubber bands, acrylic clear coat, frosted glass spray (I used the white Krylon Frosted Glass Finish)

Frosted Vases 1

I wrapped the rubber bands around the vases in a pattern I was happy with. Also, I made sure all the bands laid flat.

Frosted Vases 2

I put down a couple of black garbage and flip the vases upside down. I applied two coats of the frosted glass spray.

Frosted Vases 4

 

I waited until the paint dried and then pulled off the rubber bands. Voila!

Now I also suggest spraying the vases with some sort of clear sealant. I didn’t do that with these vases and I scratched the paint. Whoops. I also just sorta threw them in a bag to transport and wasn’t careful with them.

Original pin

2 thoughts on “Frosted vases

  1. I tried this but when I took the rubber bands off the paint stuck to some parts of the rubber bands and peeled off a chunk of the paint. How do you take the rubber bands off with a nice clean edge?

    • Make sure you’re not over spraying. Or do a light spray, let it dry and then do another coat. The only reason I can think as to why that might have happened is that it puddled around the rubber bands slightly and then dried but pulled off when you removed the rubber bands.

Leave a Reply

