DIY Scrapbook Paper Coasters

Updated: Dec. 15, 2012 – see notes at the bottom

First post. Let’s start with the craft I did last night: Scrapbook paper coasters.

scrapbook paper coasters 6

I don’t own any coasters. Didn’t really care about the watermarks being left on my coffee table and side tables until now. Why? I just got new tables (hand me downs, but still!). It’s also been really, really hot. I’m not drinking anything with less than four ice cubes in it.

Supplies: 4×4 tiles, 4×4 scrapbook paper, sponge applicator, Mod Podge, clear acrylic sealer, cork and glue dots.

I chose the right time to do this craft too. The tiles are regularly $.16 (I bought mine at Menard’s, but it looks like it’s the same price at other hardware stores), but they were on sale for $.09! Yay! Bought 10 for less than a dollar. Pretty sweet.

I also had the most awesome scrapbook paper in my paper stores, one cocktail related and one coffee/tea related.

Let’s get started:

scrapbook paper coasters 1

I laid out all 10 tiles. Working one tile at a time, I put a layer of Mod Podge down and then put the piece of scrapbook paper on it.

scrapbook paper coasters 2

It was my first time using Mod Podge! One by one, mod podge then scrapbook paper then next tile.

scrapbook paper coasters 3

Two sets of five. Coffee cups and cocktails. I waited 20 minutes before putting 3 more layers of Mod Podge over the top of the tiles. I waited 15 minutes in between coats to let them dry.

scrapbook paper coasters 4

Close up shot.

scrapbook paper coasters 5

After the mod podge dried, I took the coasters outside to spray on a layer of the clear acrylic sealer to make them waterproof.

Last part of the job was putting cork or felt rounds on the back of the coasters.

scrapbook paper coasters 8

 

Coffee coasters

scrapbook paper coasters 7

 

Cocktail coasters

There ya go!

Note: After making more coasters since this post, I do suggest letting the coasters sit and dry for a couple of days before sealing them with acrylic sealer. You do have to break the coasters in. So yes, they will stick to the bottom of cups for a bit or stick to each other for awhile. If my coffee up is too hot at times still, it will stick on occasion.

I do suggest using felt pads on the bottom vs. cork. I found a bunch of small ones at a home improvement store for cheap. They’re used for furniture and stuff. Also, for your scrapbook paper, use the thinner kind, not ones that are cardboard stock type. The thin kind is usually one-sided. The paper is less likely to try and pull away from the tile this way.

Please feel free to email me questions or head over to the Crafting and Cooking Facebook page and leave me a comment!

Original pin on Pinterest/Blog post on Wife & Life

10 thoughts on “DIY Scrapbook Paper Coasters

  1. Pingback: Top 5 posts of the year « Crafting and Cooking

  2. Two Questions: 1.) What kind of spray acrylic did you use?
    2.) Did you ever have a problem when the coaster got wet, like from a sweeting cup, that it became discolored or became opaque until it dried out again?

    • I’ve used two kinds, mod podge gloss clear acrylic sealer and krylon crystal clear. I’ve never had it go opaque. Usually I will just have to see if the coaster sticks to the bottom of whatever glass I’m using.

Leave a Reply

